Make It 3 For Williams, 2 For Panama, & 1 For Dooley As The Ville Crowns Their Most Recent State Champions

Team FYN Sports, TeamFYNSports

Greensboro, NC- 10 wrestlers from Graham County made the trip to the Greensboro Coliseum this past weekend to compete in the NCHSAA 1A State Traditional Wrestling Championships. Of those 10 wrestlers, 8 found themselves with a spot on the podium when the weekend was finished.

Adair Panama, Alexis Panama, Loxston Hooper, Lleyton Hooper, Willie Riddle, Blake Powers, Turner Jackson, Kage Williams, Koleson Dooley, and Jacob Teesateskie were dubbed the “Tenacious Ten” after punching their tickets to the state tournament in the Western Regional Championships.

All of the aforementioned wrestlers had great showings at the state tournament, but Alexis Panama, Koleson Dooley, and Kage Williams became the 25th, 26th, and 27th state champions in the history of The Ville.

Three-time State Champ Kage Williams was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler in 1A at the tournament, and also became the first wrestler in the history of the historic Robbinsville program to surpass 60 wins in a season as he finished his Junior season with a 61-0 record.

Former Robbinsville Head Coach Todd Odom interviewed Kage after his 3rd state finals win, take a look at what he had to say here:


1A 106

  • 1st Place – Cooper Foster of Avery County
  • 2nd Place – Ethan Hines of Uwharrie Charter Academy
  • 3rd Place – Ian Jones of Starmount
  • 4th Place – Adair Panama of Robbinsville (49-10)

1A 113

  • 1st Place – Alexis Panama of Robbinsville (38-5)
  • 2nd Place – Josue Gomez of Thomasville
  • 3rd Place – Christian Harris of Albemarle
  • 4th Place – Kale Stephenson of Swain County (42-16)


1A 120

  • 1st Place – Benjamin Jordan of Avery County
  • 2nd Place – Marcus Tyson of Pamlico County
  • 3rd Place – Loxston Hooper of Robbinsville (38-10)
  • 4th Place – David Rojas of Elkin


1A 145

  • 1st Place – Lorenzo Alston of Uwharrie Charter Academy
  • 2nd Place – Willie Riddle of Robbinsville (35-18)
  • 3rd Place – Ranfere Garcia of South Stanly
  • 4th Place – John Martin of Mt Airy


1A 160

  • 1st Place – Suhaib Hatamleh of Bradford Preparatory School
  • 2nd Place – Turner Jackson of Robbinsville (43-13)
  • 3rd Place – Carson Robinson of Uwharrie Charter Academy
  • 4th Place – Kaleb Davis of Rosewood


1A 182

  • 1st Place – Kage Williams of Robbinsville (57-0) 1A Most Outstanding Wrestler
  • 2nd Place – Darius Saunooke of Swain County (25-12)
  • 3rd Place – Ryan Deloach of Rosewood
  • 4th Place – Nikolas Ellis of Bessemer City

1A 220

  • 1st Place – Koleson Dooley of Robbinsville (30-8)
  • 2nd Place – Tyler Stevens of Pamlico County
  • 3rd Place – Nathan Rogers of North Moore
  • 4th Place – Blake Sain of Swain County (44-13)

1A 285

  • 1st Place – Kohlton Neadeau of Swain County (49-7)
  • 2nd Place – Johnatan Argueta of Starmount
  • 3rd Place – Caleb Hovis of Cherryville
  • 4th Place – Jacob Teesateskie of Robbinsville (15-10)

Back to Top